What is the difference between Halal and Halal-certified food?

'Halal' is an Arabic word which means lawful or permissible. Any food or drink which falls under this category is permitted for Muslim consumption. Examples of Halal food include vegetables, spices and meat deriving from animals slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic Law. 
'Halal Compliance certified' refers to products which have been endorsed as Halal by a credible Islamic body (third-party certification). Often times, Halal certification involves a series of steps including ingredient verification, inspection/audit and approval by committee. In general, all Halal-certified products are Halal, but not all Halal products are Halal-certified.

How do we use the HAC SMS Service?

To register for this Service, send a text message from your mobile as 'REG HAC' to 77100. Upon receiving the confirmtion meesage, you can now search for Halal Compliance certified products. Kindly refer the link for more information - HAC SMS & USSD

Have you certified any Soft Drinks as Halal in Sri Lanka?

No, HAC has not certified any Soft Drinks as Halal Compliant so far.

I would like to know if Whey is Halaal? 

Whey / whey protein is a by-product of cheese manufacture. As long as the rennet enzymes used in cheese manufacture is from either Microbial/plant origin or sourced from a Halaal slaughtered animal, the product would be deemed Halaal.

Are there E Numbers solely from animal sources?

Yes, there are few additives which are "always" of animal origin, such as:
  E120 Cochineal : a red colour obtained from female insects
  E441 Gelatine : derived from the bones and/ or hides of cattle and/ or pigs
  E542 Edible Bone Phosphate : an extract from animal bones
Whilst some additives with a common code such as E471, can be either of animal or plant origin and this latter type needs to be investigated on a case-by-case basis per product/ manufacturer.

May We Eat Gelatin?

Gelatin is a protein product obtained from the collagen of vertebrates, including pigs, cattle and fish. It is recovered by hydrolysis. The main raw materials used today are pigskins, cattle bones and cattle hide. Of these, the most common source is pigskins.
Gelatin is used in the preparation of baked goods, ice cream, yogurt, jellies and many other confectionaries. It is also used in the medical and pharmaceutical industry. If the word gelatine appears on a label without reference to its source, it is generally derived from pig skins and cattle bones, so it must be avoided otherwise refer if the particular product is Halal certified.
It is possible to produce halal gelatin by using the bones and hides of halal slaughtered cattle. In such a case, the gelatin would be certified halal and labeled as halal gelatin. Certified halal gelatin made from fish bones or halal slaughtered cattle is now available for the food and pharmaceutical industry

Is Lecithin Halal?

Lecithin is an emulsifier. It is found in plants such as soybeans, in egg yolks and in other animal sources. Emulsifiers are compounds used to keep oils or fats and water dispersed in one phase (i.e., they prevent oil and water from separating).
If the lecithin is derived from plants, egg yolks or halal animals slaughtered according to Islamic law, it is Halal. Otherwise it is not.

What are E No's?

E-Numbers represent specific food additives, used by the industry in the manufacture of various food products. These E-Numbers have been formulated by the European Economic Community (EEC) and are universally adopted by the food industry worldwide.

Where can I get to know the latest Halal certified products from?

You can search our site for the relevant products. You can also download a PDF from clicking here  

Is Highland Halal certified?

Highland is NOT Halal compliance certified by HAC.