FAQ : consumer

What the authority HAC has to issue Halal certification? Who has given the authority to HAC to issue the said certification?

Based on the companies act on which HAC is incorporated it is clearly mentioned and approved by the registrar of companies that the sole purpose of this institution being set up is for the issuance of Halal certification.

What is the cost of obtaining a Halal Certificate?

The cost of the certification depends on various factors, such as, industry, size of the organization, nature of the business, distance of the premises that needs to be audit. Based on these factors, the cost of the certification is arrived. 

Most of tooth past are using Benzyl Alcohol, is it Halal or Haram?

For your information “Benzyl alcohol” is Halal. It’s produced naturally by many plants and is commonly found in fruits and teas. It is used as a bactericide (kills bacteria) in personal care formulations and it does not cause intoxication, therefore it is classed as Halal, even though its chemical name contains the word ‘Alcohol’.

Is it possible to determine the Halal status of a product by looking at the E-Numbers listed on the pack?

Generally products are made by many raw materials out of that,  only some them are food additives and only food additives are represented by E-numbers.Most of the ingredients that are represented by E numbers, can be either of animal or plant or microbial  or chemical or mineral origin and requires to be investigated.Halal status of a food additive cannot be decided based only on the E Number. It would be difficult for the common layman to distinguish halal status of raw materials as most of the raw materials can be derived from more than one source.Therefore, there is a need for a stringent screening of the raw materials by their party certification such as Halal certification used for respective status. It is highly advised to the Halal consumers to go for Halal certified products.

What are Glycerides?

Mono and di-glycerides are fatty substances that are used as emulsifiers. Emulsifiers are compounds used to keep oils or fats and water dispersed in one phase (i.e., they prevent oil and water from separating).

Mono and di-glycerides can be derived from animal or vegetable sources. When derived from vegetable sources, they are halal. When derived from animal sources, they are almost always derived from fat of animals that have not been slaughtered in a halal manner.

Mono- and di-glycerides are used in a wide variety of products, including baked goods, peanut butter, margarine, shortening, and other products.

What is Cochineal (E 120)?

It is a deep crimson dye which is extracted from the female cochineal insects. Cochineal is used to produce scarlet, orange and other red tints. The colouring comes from carminic acid. Cochineal extract's natural carminic-acid content is usually 19–22%. The insects are killed by immersion in hot water (after which they are dried) or by exposure to sunlight, steam, or the heat of an oven. Each method produces a different colour which results in the varied appearance of commercial cochineal.

The insects must be dried to about 30 percent of their original body weight before they can be stored without decaying. It takes about 80,000 to 100,000 insects to make one kilogram of cochineal.

Is HAC a commercial Entity established to make Profits?

We are a Not for Profit Organization established as a Guarantee Company. All revenue generated is reinvested for process improvement and if any excess funds, they will be used for selected national causes.

Why would HAC terminate a Halal Compliance Certificate?

Either on Mutual agreement with the company or for breach of terms & conditions

Pages